SYNC ON WINDOWS

INSTALLING BITPACKSYNC ON WINDOWS

Installing

You must install BitPack Sync before you can begin syncing documents on your local computer to BitPack. You can download BitPack Sync here.

Step 1:

Download BitPack Sync App

Step 2:

After successfully downloading the app, run the execution file, “BitPackSync.exe.”

Step 3:

Use the wizard to install Sync.

Step 4:

Restart the computer.

Start BitPack Sync

After you install Sync and restart your computer you must provide your BitPack account information to Sync. This allows BitPack to synchronize your files with our servers.

Step 1:

Open BitPack Sync.

Step 2:

In BitPack Sync Server URL, type “https://account.bitpack.com

Step 3:

In Account and Password, type in your credentials.

Step 4:

If you only want to edit files and not to sync changes back or get updates, select the Document Editing Only checkbox.

*Additionally you can select an alternative language

Step 5:

Click Login.

HOW TO USE BITPACK SYNC

Sharing Files

File sharing allows you to provide public or private access to files stored in BitPack and saved in your Sync folders with various levels of access privileges.

While files can easily be shared simply by emailing someone your file, sharing files using Sync allows you to:

  • Keep track of shared file recipients

  • Add comments about the file

  • Monitor file versions

  • Control changes people make to the file by setting a combination of permissions to read, view, modify, copy, or delete it

  • File sharing can also mean having an allocated amount of personal file storage in a common file system

To create a shared file or to manage it, you will always select the Share option from the right-click menu.

Even if the file is already being shared, to access the Manage Share window you must select the Share option again.

The Manage Share window contains buttons to perform the following actions:

Sync Files

You can view and control all the Sync app’s settings from the Sync app menu.

Here, you can view the following functions:

  • Account Settings: Change user account and server information used for connection.

  • Selective Sync: Allows you to select which specific folders get synchronized locally.

  • Network Folders: Allows you to select which network folders get synchronized locally.

  • Backup: Allows you to select which local folders should be backed up.

  • Change Sync Folder: Allows you to change the location where the Sync folder is stored. You can move it to a different drive, for instance, if storage space is an issue.

  • Reset All Sync Data: Sometimes, you might want to clear the synchronization state information in the Sync app and make it reset all the internal data. This will make it recreate the sync state again from the server. Note that no files in the Sync folder are deleted or affected (i.e. if the file already exists locally it will not be re-downloaded).

  • Other Settings: You can also edit other miscellaneous settings, and Sync settings are shown even when Sync is paused so that they can be changed.

Manage Files

Sync is an alternative to using a web browser to access files stored on BitPack. In Sync, the files you are working on are stored in BitPack and not on your local disk.

To open Sync, right-click on the BitPack icon in your system tray. To open a file explorer window, select “File Browser” to display your items that are synced with BitPack.

Backup Files

Step 1:

Launch BitPack Sync by right-clicking on the icon in your system tray, and then select Settings.

Step 2:

In the Settings window, in Backup, click Edit

Step 3:

On the Backup Folders screen, click Add Backup Folder.

Step 4:

On the New Backup Folder dialog box, click Select.

Step 5:

Browse to the folder in the Sync path that you want to backup.

Step 6:

Click Add Folder.

Step 7:

After selecting the folder, no automatic backup will occur until you do one of the following:

  • Leave the schedule setting to Manual and click the Run Now button

  • In the schedule setting, change Manual to an interval in the list

  • In the schedule setting, change Manual to Choose a Different Schedule, and then configure when the backup occurs.